Job 19:25-27: Albert Barnes on Messianic Interpretations

“I confess that I have never been so pained at any conclusion to which I have come in the interpretation of the Bible, as in the case before us. I would like to have found a distinct prophecy of the Messiah in this ancient and venerable book. I would like to have found the faith of this eminent saint sustained by such a faith in his future advent and incarnation. I would like to have found evidence that this expectation had become incorporated in the piety of the early nations, and was found in Arabia. I would like to have found traces of the early belief of the doctrine of the resurrection of the dead sustaining the souls of the patriarchs then, as it does ours now, in trial. But I cannot. Yet I can regard it as a most beautiful and triumphant expression of confidence in God, and as wholly worthy to be engraved, as Job desired it might be, in the solid rock forever, that the passing traveler might see and read it; or as worthy of that more permanent record which it has received by being “printed in a book” – by an art unknown then, and sent down to the end of the world to be read and admired in all generations.” Albert Barnes (1798-1870) Notes on the Bible

  For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at last he will stand upon the earth;  (26)  and after my skin has been thus destroyed, then from my flesh I shall see God,  (27)  whom I shall see on my side, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. My heart faints within me! Job 19:25-27 RSVA

Leave a Reply

