Some Verses Concerning Prayer and Holiness

Fellow church member asked me for some help searching out verses on the topic. I thought, “Why not spread the work around?” Here you go:

Psa 34:12-16 NET. Do you want to really live? Would you love to live a long, happy life? (13) Then make sure you don’t speak evil words or use deceptive speech! (14) Turn away from evil and do what is right! Strive for peace and promote it! (15) The LORD pays attention to the godly and hears their cry for help. (16) But the LORD opposes evildoers and wipes out all memory of them from the earth.

Psa 66:18 NET. If I had harbored sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.

Pro 15:8-9 NET. The LORD abhors the sacrifices of the wicked, but the prayer of the upright pleases him. (9) The LORD abhors the way of the wicked, but he loves those who pursue righteousness.

Pro 28:9 NET. The one who turns away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer is an abomination.

Isa 1:11-16 NET. “Of what importance to me are your many sacrifices?” says the LORD. “I am stuffed with burnt sacrifices of rams and the fat from steers. The blood of bulls, lambs, and goats I do not want. (12) When you enter my presence, do you actually think I want this — animals trampling on my courtyards? (13) Do not bring any more meaningless offerings; I consider your incense detestable! You observe new moon festivals, Sabbaths, and convocations, but I cannot tolerate sin-stained celebrations! (14) I hate your new moon festivals and assemblies; they are a burden that I am tired of carrying. (15) When you spread out your hands in prayer, I look the other way; when you offer your many prayers, I do not listen, because your hands are covered with blood. (16) Wash! Cleanse yourselves! Remove your sinful deeds from my sight. Stop sinning!

Joh 9:31 NET. We know that God doesn’t listen to sinners, but if anyone is devout and does his will, God listens to him.

Joh 15:4-10 NET. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it remains in the vine, so neither can you unless you remain in me. (5) “I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in me — and I in him — bears much fruit, because apart from me you can accomplish nothing. (6) If anyone does not remain in me, he is thrown out like a branch, and dries up; and such branches are gathered up and thrown into the fire, and are burned up. (7) If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you want, and it will be done for you. (8) My Father is honored by this, that you bear much fruit and show that you are my disciples. (9) “Just as the Father has loved me, I have also loved you; remain in my love. (10) If you obey my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.

Joh 15:14-16 NET. You are my friends if you do what I command you. (15) I no longer call you slaves, because the slave does not understand what his master is doing. But I have called you friends, because I have revealed to you everything I heard from my Father. (16) You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit, fruit that remains, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he will give you.

1Jn 2:3-6 NET. Now by this we know that we have come to know God: if we keep his commandments. (4) The one who says “I have come to know God” and yet does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in such a person. (5) But whoever obeys his word, truly in this person the love of God has been perfected. By this we know that we are in him. (6) The one who says he resides in God ought himself to walk just as Jesus walked.

1Jn 3:18-22 NET. Little children, let us not love with word or with tongue but in deed and truth. (19) And by this we will know that we are of the truth and will convince our conscience in his presence, (20) that if our conscience condemns us, that God is greater than our conscience and knows all things. (21) Dear friends, if our conscience does not condemn us, we have confidence in the presence of God, (22) and whatever we ask we receive from him, because we keep his commandments and do the things that are pleasing to him.

1Jn 5:14-18 NET. And this is the confidence that we have before him: that whenever we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. (15) And if we know that he hears us in regard to whatever we ask, then we know that we have the requests that we have asked from him. (16) If anyone sees his fellow Christian committing a sin not resulting in death, he should ask, and God will grant life to the person who commits a sin not resulting in death. There is a sin resulting in death. I do not say that he should ask about that. (17) All unrighteousness is sin, but there is sin not resulting in death. (18) We know that everyone fathered by God does not sin, but God protects the one he has fathered, and the evil one cannot touch him.

Maybe I’ll post some commentary quotes if the topic goes over….

Leave a Reply

