WATSA: Gospel of Thomas in my hands

The subject is a perennial favorite, the author well-qualified to speak about it.

And the price on Amazon is entirely right.

What Are They Saying About: The Gospel of Thomas is by Christopher Skinner, Assistant Professor, Ph.D. in Biblical Studies, Gospel of Thomas researcher, and blogger. Its actual text runs eighty-seven pages in a goodly sized font, but you’ll want a second bookmark for the substantive end notes (twenty-three pages). The bibliography breaks down the referenced books into three categories that basically equal : general reader, educated reader, scholarly reader. There is even a two page glossary.

I’ve only begun to read the book, but I already can say that this is now the best introduction to the scholarly issues around Thomas for the general public and a useful summary for the scholar. If it also included a translation it would be superb, but there are Gospel of Thomas translations all over the Internet and bursting the bookshelves of most bookstores I’ve ever shopped.

If you’ve any interest in the Gospel of Thomas, this book is more than a keeper; it’s a Go-Get-It-Now.

3 responses to “WATSA: Gospel of Thomas in my hands

  1. Chuck, Thanks for the shout-out. I saw your blog post as a referring page to my blog. I appreciate your kind words. I was really aiming for a “user-friendly” introduction to Thomas. I’m glad there is at least one person who thinks I’ve accomplished that!

    Best,

    Chris

  2. Pingback: My book around the web « PEJE IESOUS·

  3. Pingback: My latest book around the web « Religion at Mount Olive·

Leave a Reply

