Why “Prophets” Arent’ to Be Feared

Robert Cargill asks

“For what is to stop a wealthy preacher with cable access to claim, for instance, that God has given him a direct, word-for-word revelation? And in a world based upon revelation (as opposed to reason and rationality) who are you to dispute him? Does God speak to you, and if so, why are you at your desk fuming while Pat Robertson is on TV prophesying?”

The answer is very simple, and is indeed in spoken by God, in Scripture:

Deu 18:17-22 NET.  The LORD then said to me, “What they have said is good.  (18)  I will raise up a prophet like you for them from among their fellow Israelites. I will put my words in his mouth and he will speak to them whatever I command.  (19)  I will personally hold responsible anyone who then pays no attention to the words that prophet speaks in my name.  (20)  “But if any prophet presumes to speak anything in my name that I have not authorized him to speak, or speaks in the name of other gods, that prophet must die.  (21)  Now if you say to yourselves, ‘How can we tell that a message is not from the LORD?’ — (22)  whenever a prophet speaks in my name and the prediction is not fulfilled, then I have not spoken it; the prophet has presumed to speak it, so you need not fear him.”

Personally, I hate stoning old guys like Pat Robertson, and while John 7:53- 8:11 isn’t a proper part of John’s gospel, it is an ancient and widely accepted idea that it is extremely true to Jesus’ nature. And since Jesus will be holding me personally responsible anyway, I think I will err on the side of mercy, not sacrifice, as it were.

Leave a Reply

