This is Why I Don’t Recommend the KJV

 

My Sunday School class tends to read the KJV (because we’re old farts) but even they have found themselves going with the Holman Christian Standard Bible(I don’t much care for the name, either) lately.

One recent incident involved the word “conversation”. The KJV term derives from the Latin conversatio, which means “way of life, conduct, behavior”, not “communication between two or more speakers”.  I had to explain that one. And the fact that entire books have been written on changes in word meaning since 1611 should clue one in that maybe it’s time to try another translation….

2 responses to “This is Why I Don’t Recommend the KJV

  1. I knew four out of six, but on a test the obvious pattern would allow me to score 5 of 6.

    I’ve enough difficulty at times following 19th century Bible translations. The KJV just multiplies the problems.

Leave a Reply

