The Big Brown Truck Brings Didache

The latest UPS delivery was a mere two books, but there was nothing mere about the titles:

The Didache, Hermeneia Commentary, by Kurt Niederwimmer

The Didache: Faith, Hope, and Life of the Earliest Christian Communities, 50-70 C.E., by Aaron Milavec.

Niederwimmer is a traditional sort of commentary, and for many the leading commentary on this part of the Apostolic Fathers. Though with the mass of work going on in researching the Didache, it’s 1993 date is making it seem dated already.

Milavec’s book gives the impression of needing to reverse the parts of it’s long title for strict accuracy.  It is also considered THE book on the Didache by many– not the least because of its nine hundred plus page length!–  but it is made up of commentary sections and “excurses” in greyed blocks. It also spends no little time speaking of modern day issues along with interpretation of the text, which annoyed a few reviewers.

Next up for me will be Psalms commentaries for the next quarter’s Sunday School lessons.

4 responses to “The Big Brown Truck Brings Didache

  1. Niederwimmer is excellent — I think you’ll enjoy it immensely. I personally didn’t get too much out of Milavec, although his book is very detailed and he usually has A LOT to say on whatever subject he discusses.

  2. You’ll have to tell me what you think of Milavec – I have his book and have avoided ever reading it out of fear of getting lost in the mire of minutia.

  3. Brandon: Yes, I think one will learn a lot about Early Christianity from Milavec, as well as the Didache. I also hold some reservations about his commentary style. I prefer Varner’s introductory book on the Didache to Milavec’s intro, in fact.

    Eric: Well, if worse come to worse Milavec will make a very useful addition to the stack of books I use to raise up my short bedside lamp. Of course I normally reserve that spot for systematic theologies. 😉

    Right now I am prepping my dive into the serious commentaries by reading Clayton Jefford’s The Apostolic Fathers and the New Testament. I’ve started it before but never finished it. This time’s the charm; I shall finish it.

  4. Pingback: New Leaven·

Leave a Reply

