Third Advent Reading

1 Ιακωβ ὁ παῖς μου, ἀντιλήμψομαι αὐτοῦ, Ισραηλ ὁ ἐκλεκτός μου, προσεδέξατο αὐτὸν ἡ ψυχή μου, ἔδωκα τὸ πνεῦμά μου ἐπʼ αὐτόν, κρίσιν τοῖς ἔθνεσιν ἐξοίσει. 2 οὐ κεκράξεται οὐδὲ ἀνήσει, οὐδὲ ἀκουσθήσεται ἔξω ἡ φωνὴ αὐτοῦ. 3 κάλαμον τεθλασμένον οὐ συντρίψει καὶ λίνον καπνιζόμενον οὐ σβέσει, ἀλλὰ εἰς ἀλήθειαν ἐξοίσει κρίσιν. 4 ἀναλάμψει καὶ οὐ θραυσθήσεται, ἕως ἂν θῇ ἐπὶ τῆς γῆς κρίσιν, καὶ ἐπὶ τῷ ὀνόματι αὐτοῦ ἔθνη ἐλπιοῦσιν. 5 οὕτως λέγει κύριος ὁ θεὸς ὁ ποιήσας τὸν οὐρανὸν καὶ πήξας αὐτόν, ὁ στερεώσας τὴν γῆν καὶ τὰ ἐν αὐτῇ καὶ διδοὺς πνοὴν τῷ λαῷ τῷ ἐπʼ αὐτῆς καὶ πνεῦμα τοῖς πατοῦσιν αὐτήν, 6 ἐγὼ κύριος ὁ θεὸς ἐκάλεσά σε ἐν δικαιοσύνῃ καὶ κρατήσω τῆς χειρός σου καὶ ἐνισχύσω σε καὶ ἔδωκά σε εἰς διαθήκην γένους, εἰς φῶς ἐθνῶν 7 ἀνοῖξαι ὀφθαλμοὺς τυφλῶν, ἐξαγαγεῖν ἐκ δεσμῶν δεδεμένους καὶ ἐξ οἴκου φυλακῆς καθημένους ἐν σκότει. —8 ἐγὼ κύριος ὁ θεός, τοῦτό μού ἐστιν τὸ ὄνομα, τὴν δόξαν μου ἑτέρῳ οὐ δώσω οὐδὲ τὰς ἀρετάς μου τοῖς γλυπτοῖς. 9 τὰ ἀπʼ ἀρχῆς ἰδοὺ ἥκασιν, καὶ καινὰ ἃ ἐγὼ ἀναγγελῶ, καὶ πρὸ τοῦ ἀνατεῖλαι ἐδηλώθη ὑμῖν.

Septuaginta: With morphology. (1979). (electronic ed., Is 42:1–9). Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft.

Jacob is my child, I will help him; Israel is my chosen one, my soul has accepted him. I have given my spirit upon him; he will bring forth judgment upon the nations. 2 He will not cry out or lift up his voice, nor will his voice be heard outside. 3 He will not crush a bruised reed, and he will not extinguish a smoking flax, but he will bring forth justice to truth. 4 He will blaze forth and will not be broken until he brings justice upon the earth, and the nations will hope in his name. 5 This is what the Lord God says, who made heaven and pitched it like a tent, who established the earth and the things in it and gave breath to the people who are upon it and spirit to those who walk upon it. 6 I, the Lord God, have called you in righteousness, and I will hold fast onto your hand and strengthen you and ⌊make you a covenant for the nation⌋ 7 to open the eyes of the blind, to lead those who are bound out from their chains, and those seated in darkness out of ⌊prison⌋. 8 I am the Lord God; this is my name. I will not give my glory to another, nor my praises to graven images. 9 Look! the things which were from the beginning have come, and I have made new things known to you, which I report even ⌊before they are announced⌋.

Brannan, R., Penner, K. M., Loken, I., Aubrey, M., & Hoogendyk, I. (Eds.). (2012). The Lexham English Septuagint (Is 42:1–9). Bellingham, WA: Lexham Press.

Leave a Reply

